iammorethanlyme

personal journey with lyme disease

Visualization needed for this post – humor January 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — iammorethanlyme @ 9:20 am
Tags:

I look for every chance to find humor in life; even at my own expense.  This will be short, but hopefully entertaining.  For the past few weeks, I have been working out at the gym since I graduated physical therapy.  I have a trainer one day and the other days I do the work on my own.  These are the nights I sleep really well.  Yesterday I worked myself a little harder as I like to test myself, made it to 11pm and went to bed.  I have a Craftmatic bed which is fabulous for me so I can be comfortable and get help if I need it getting out of bed.

I put my Bob Seger CD on and my fan (always need air) and climbed under the blankets lying on my stomach and passed out.  I woke up a few hours later and realized my back was sore so, with the agility of a water buffalo, I found the remote and adjusted the bed so my head was raised as were my legs – making me a comfortable “V”.  Beautiful; back to sleep in no time.  Somehow, at some point, I managed to turn over onto my stomach.  At first I was just stuck and thought I must be dreaming.  Then I started wriggling and ended up on my side like a “U” and thought, “What the heck is going on?”  I moved some more and ended up inverted – now I was awake and aware of what I had done and that I really needed to go to the bathroom.  Oh – do you think I could reach the remote now?????  I used all my Jedi tricks to no avail, thought about calling out to Dave – but I hate to bug him, so I somehow snaked my way over to the remote and ta-da freedom was in reach!  Only, I had it upside down and the first button I pressed was a preset for another position – there really should be a camera on me at all times!

Well, as I am writing this, you know that I finally got out of the contraption, into my slippers and shuffled to the bathroom as quick as I could.  I went back to bed and had a little talk with it about understanding my issues and though it may think it’s funny, I have enough trouble with everyday life and it better not let that happen again.  Needless to say, I left the bed flat and tried to get back to sleep listening to Natalie Merchant’s Tigerlily.  Now to decide if I should consider this episode the end of yesterday or worry that it’s the beginning of today!

Thanks for reading and do not operate machinery unless fully awake!  Happy Weekend! Kathi

 

3 Responses to “Visualization needed for this post – humor”

  1. Oh Kath, I ‘m sorry but I cracked up with the image of you in that torture item called a bed. I love you for your humor (so much like my own), and your strength and grace in dealing with your Lyme. You’re awesome. one more thing, I think you should put the option on your blog for people to follow you because you have SO much to offer people, not just those with Lyme but others who may read your story and be inspired. I know I am !!!!….just a thought.

    Like

  2. Cindy Zelman Says:

    I really enjoyed this blog, Kathy. Funny stuff and you are very resourceful. Also, I was able to follow you because I have a button at the top of my screen that asks me to follow – but that’s only because I have a WordPress account. There must be another way for those who don’t blog.

    Like


Leave a Reply

