iammorethanlyme

personal journey with lyme disease

Where does the time go? February 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — iammorethanlyme @ 10:01 am

I have been wanting to blog for the past few weeks and I cannot for the life of me figure out what kept me from doing it.  That’s not entirely true as I have been extremely irritated with Lionel Lyme as it decided that I couldn’t spend time out of my house three days in a row without mowing me down for the next ten days.  I didn’t want to admit it was Lionel that made me sick, off balance, leaving burners on, burning myself on a daily basis, not remembering things and repeating myself, having word loss again.  The worst of it was, I was not able to go to the gym and that really brought me down.  It was just for a week, but I felt like Lionel was winning again.  I also knew that going to the gym could be dangerous with my balance issues and I didn’t want to do anything too embarrassing.  I also seem to have lost strength again on my left side. 

Now that I’ve complained, let me tell you that I have a great trainer at the gym.  He spoke with me on the phone and told me to “let it go”, this might happen off and on while we figure what my body can handle and he would see me next week.  I went Tuesday and there Bobby was waiting to talk before starting my session.  Not having dealt with a Chronic Lymie, but apparently reading about it, he told me that maybe we had stirred up Lionel and his buddies with our workouts because if you ask me to do something, I’m going to do it.  It’s just in me, especially when it comes to exercise which I have so dearly missed these past 8 years.  I’m thinking the harder I work, the faster I can get back in shape and feel even better!  Bobby has decided that we need to work more slowly while adding in some cardio work and still sweat (which I happen to be very good at!).  It’s so good for me to go to the gym as it is in my town and I know a lot of people and I think I have a bit of a following as many of them saw me start there with a walker, progressed to crutches and now I walk in on my own!  I so desperately need this social part; hearing the music, having quick chats with others, going on other days by myself and deciding what I want to do for my workout.  I have been housebound for over six years!!! Yes, I saw people when they came to me, but I did not have the freedom to leave my house on my own and always need someone to take me to appointments or sometimes to lunch as I don’t drive.

Now about the driving matter – I have to take a permit test and road test!  I don’t mind as I don’t think I’m better than anyone else, but it took three days for the Registry to figure this out.  Short-term memory issue and memorizing a permit book should be interesting.  The good thing is I don’t have to wait six months to take my road test.  If I pass my permit test, I can schedule my road test right there and then.  Just to get in a car and go someplace by myself because I want to  will be such a great freedom!  There is no way I can ever thank my sister, daughter or husband for all they’ve done and the patience they have shown taking me to wherever I have to be, so I hope seeing me get better is enough for them.  If it isn’t………………….just kidding – they LOVE me!  I will think of something anyway to thank them once I have my license.  Happy weekend. Kathi

 

One Response to “Where does the time go?”

  1. hi cuz ! I love reading your blog although i don’t love Lionel !!! sounds like you’re doing better though and the fact that you go to the gym and now are going to get your license back are awesome things to hear. I’m so proud of you and your perseverance ! love you so much,
    krissy

    Like


Leave a Reply

