iammorethanlyme

personal journey with lyme disease

Relapses, bulging disks and doctors – OH MY Part 3 September 27, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — iammorethanlyme @ 5:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Feeling totally dis-empowered now by the eight days of waiting for a doctor to help me with my back, I went to their website to send an email and their computers are still being upgraded.  Wait, what’s that..Contact Us and when I clicked on it, there was the phone number and a title “We Value Your Opinion” with a box to type in.  Hmmm, should I, dare I, what the heck.  My first line was, “I wish you valued your patients.”  Subtle, of course not. I went on to detail as in as few words as I could what had transpired this past week.  I ended with, “Please tell me what I did wrong.”  Then I added my name, phone number and email address.

I thought that this would not be seen for a while and started to get angry at myself for sending it.  Apparently I had done something wrong.  Why would any doctor that you have a very good relationship with let you suffer as I have for the past week?  As I mentally beat myself up, I decided to call my Lyme doctor as I have been waiting to be rescheduled and had to leave a voice mail.

No more than 10 minutes later, the phone rings and it is my PCP’s assistant telling me that a note for physical therapy had been faxed to the number I had provided.  Could someone have possibly read that email already?  Probably coincidence, right?  My phone rings again; it is my Lyme doctor’s office.  The news is not as good.  She is still out on medical leave and will be back soon on a part-time basis.  I am concerned as I know she was being treated for Lyme when we met, but it is none of my business to ask.  When is my appointment?  Monday, NOVEMBER 4th at 9:30 in the morning.  That will be four months from the last time I saw her and I have not been well since the last visit.

Time for more mental notes to self; “Why should I be upset?”, “It’s not her fault she is ill.” “It’s almost October already, so I’ll be fine till November.”  This is me and my brain.  The same brain that had me convinced I might as well give up the idea of physical therapy and suck it up.  Unfortunately, this is not due to Lyme, this is the way I am wired.  I MUST have done something wrong to have these things happen to me.  It is easier to turn the feelings inward.  At least that is what I tell myself well knowing it is costing me a lot actually.

 

3 Responses to “Relapses, bulging disks and doctors – OH MY Part 3”

  1. robin hall Says:

    Kathy, I am so sorry you have to go through all of this. I really wish I could say something to make you feel better, but I can’t think of anything. like with my mom, sometimes it’s just better to listen. so I am very happy (weird choice of words, I know) to read your entries as I know they are therapeutic. I hope you can get started on your pt right away!

    Like

    • Robin, I know you understand and the fact that you take the time to read my blog and comment means more to me than you know. I have chosen to get back to writing about things because it is therapeutic and I really don’t want to talk about ME when I see other friends and family. Thank you for caring. PT Tuesday!!

      Like

  2. First of all, YOU did not do something wrong to deserve what you are suffering. That is just wrong thinking. Yep, I said it. You are suffering, yes. But it is not because of anything you have done. I sure hope you find some relief and that you can begin treatment again soon. Healing thoughts and prayers for you, friend.

    Like


Leave a Reply

