iammorethanlyme

personal journey with lyme disease

Friday, July 10, 2015 – A New Beginning July 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — iammorethanlyme @ 2:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

My Friday morning started out the same as always: get up, shower, get dressed, have coffee, check emails, have more coffee, do a few puzzles and pay bills.  The rest of the day was unique to me.

I left the house at 9:15 to go to the bank and then make it to an appointment 40 minutes away.  After my appointment, I headed through the back roads of Wellesley, MA to Needham, MA to a gluten-free bakery and picked out two gluten-free and two regular cupcakes.  Then I wound my way to Rt.1 South and got an iced coffee at the drive-thru window.  I continued down Rt 1 to Newbury Comics where I found a CD Dave has been looking for and a used DVD “Office Space”.  It was close to 1 o’clock and I was hungry so I had one more stop at the Canton Library to pick up the next two books in a series I am reading and then I headed home where I ate and sat for a few minutes deciding whether or not I needed a rest.

Forty minutes later I was out the door and stopped to pick up coffee K-cups and got the chance to see my youngest, Meg and chat for a few minutes.  Then I went to Wal-Mart to shop for paper goods and items that are less expensive and work in my budget.  It was great to wander aisles and not worry about the time.  I left and stopped to put gas in the car on my way home.  It was after 4 and I decided that I had done enough and the gym would have been too much.  It was a good decision.

Doesn’t sound all that exciting, does it?  I didn’t go for a manicure or take myself out to eat, BUT what I did do was DRIVE myself everywhere!  After 9 1/2 years of not driving or working, I had finally gone for a new permit and had passed the road test (easily) on Tuesday, July 7, 2015.

Almost a decade of being dependent on others.  Never in a million years would I have imagined that it would have taken me this long to recover enough from 4 strains of Lyme and 10 co-infections and simply be able to drive by myself.  I know my family and close friends understand.  I know my Lyme friends get it.  I thought being able to go to the gym almost every day since April was incredible.  I thought being off antibiotics since mid-April was awesome.  I thought walking to the library and taking out books that I could now hold and read was so freeing.  Then I drove again by myself.  The shit-eating grin, the tears and the loud music were a medicine like no other.

Thank you to everyone who supported and believed in me during this process.  I knew enough to stop driving, so I trusted myself to know that I was well enough to drive again.  My son-in-law, Scott, called me a teenager the other day for the way I was acting.  Then he and Amy took me out to dinner to celebrate my achievement.  Yes, we let Dave come along.

Donna, Amy and Dave, your kindness and patience chauffeuring me everywhere for past decade go beyond anything I could put into words.  I also know that you will always be there for me, but now maybe I can be there for you. xoxo

 

3 Responses to “Friday, July 10, 2015 – A New Beginning”

  1. Debbie Says:

    OMG I couldn’t be happier for you! I’m crying tears of joy and love! xoxo

    Like

    • Thanks Sweetie! Dave was great about getting a ride to work so I could have the car for the day because of my appointment. Then I was out the door bright and early Saturday to go to Donna’s for coffee, as she has always come over here, and then I take the car to the gym when Dave gets home! The gym is where I have had all my physical therapy and they spent 7 months teaching me to walk again – so I got cheers when I went in waving my car key 😀 My doctor has reminded me that I am not “through this” disease and going from 0-60 will just set me back. So I hope to use this summer to enjoy my freedom to do the things I have missed out on – seeing friends. As much as we could use money, Dave says “take your time, you missed out on so much”. See you soon????

      Like

  2. Donna Says:

    No matter how you were feeling or what you were going through, never were you not there for me. I am just so happy that you are at this point and are enjoying the “simple” things. I love you and will always be here for you, as you are for me! xoxo

    Like


Leave a Reply

